Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors

The DFCU Financial Board of Directors is elected by the membership to oversee the governance of the credit union.

There is a Nominating Committee, an Audit Committee and an Asset Liability Management Committee that oversees the annual financial audit, regulatory examinations, re-election of directors and the internal controls of the credit union. The Board members serve on a volunteer basis.

The Role of the Board of Directors 

DFCU Financial’s Board of Directors is responsible for guiding and overseeing the direction of the credit union to ensure that the long-term interests of members are being served. The Board looks after member interests and presents proposals that best serve the overall membership. 

Director Qualifications 

DFCU Financial maintains a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of nine members. The primary considerations in being a member of the DFCU Financial Board of Directors are:

  • Eligibility
    Membership in DFCU Financial is required. All directors are also required to be a full-time employee in an organization with operations in Michigan’s lower peninsula.
  • Compensation
    This is a volunteer position without any compensation as required by the Michigan Credit Union Act.
  • Personal Time Commitment
    At a minimum, the time commitment of directors includes a monthly evening meeting, a quarterly Board committee meeting, attendance at the Annual Membership Meeting and ad hoc meetings as dictated by business circumstances.
  • Consideration for Service on the Board of Directors
    Eligible members interested in being considered for the DFCU Financial Board of Directors may forward a resume to the Nominating Committee at the following address:

DFCU Financial
Nominating Committee
400 Town Center Drive
Dearborn, MI 48126 


DFCU Financial Board of Directors:

Ryan Bewersdorf
Attorney, Bewersdorf PLC 

Dr. Robert Chapman
Chairman of the Board
Director of the Josephine Ford Cancer Center, Henry Ford Health System

J. Paul Conway
Vice Chairman of the Board
Senior Vice President, Human Resources, Oakwood Healthcare, Inc. 

Jim Cowper
Financial Officer of the Board
Vice President, Business Development, Peak Technical Staffing

William Furtwangler
Controller, Automotive Components Holding, LLC 

Keith Moss
Senior Manager, Information Technology Office, Ford Motor Company

John Sinelli
Director of Programs and Purchasing, Air US International

Laura Terzes
Secretary of the Board
Manager, Ford Customer Service Division, Ford Motor Company 

Don Tomford
Chief Department Administrator, Department of Neurosurgery
University of Michigan Health System